New Enemy Assets and Damned Gapping MP3 Playback

The Robots sent me a new asset. This is one of those medium sized enemies. It looks really cool!

New enemy sprite assets
New enemy sprite assets

Of course I’m just glad to integrate it in the game. Everything worked fine. No revisions needed. Awesome!

I have new music scores as well. My sound guy updated the existing ones, made them much better. I had a problem, though – the dreaded MP3 playback gap. Sometimes it’s not so obvious in other tracks. There are just unlucky tracks that sounds horrible when they are about to loop. That gap of silence is so ugly and annoying.

The obvious solution is to use the uncompressed format of the sound (WAV). It works really well, but it added around 9MB to the game file size. Not good!

Another solution is to buy the Android Pro license which has “Gapless looping” option for audio clips. But I don’t have $1500. Somebody please give me money.

The hard solution is to chip away a little bit at the end of the track and hope that the gap would close. Honestly, it’s not a real solution because the gap would still happen, but it did made it sound like the length of the gap is reduced making it less obvious. It’s good enough for me.

Tried cutting away a little bit at the end of the track
Tried cutting away a little bit at the end of the track

Or I could suggest to my sound guy to intentionally compose scores that has silence or fade out at the end of the track.

Leave a Reply

